Preserving history for future generations.
The Bank of Everglades building was built in 1927 for Barron Gift Collier, who envisioned an iconic landmark building as the home for the Bank of Everglades. The Bank remained in the building until 1962, when the business relocated to Immokalee. The building was then used as a rooming house.
In 1979, the building was purchased by Reba “Rusty” Rupsis, who published the Everglades Echo newspaper in the building until 1990. After that, it was a Bed & Breakfast by several succeeding owners until it closed in 2017. The building has remained vacant since that time.